Série sur IP - Un guide détaillé sur la façon de partager RS232 sur IP


Le protocole de communication RS232 ne montre aucun signe de disparition dans un avenir proche. C'est toujours une méthode très populaire pour la communication avec les instruments de laboratoire, les équipements POS et les appareils d'automatisation industrielle. Malgré cela, la plupart des ordinateurs modernes ne sont pas équipés de ports série. Cela peut poser un problème si vous essayez de connecter des ports série au réseau TCP/IP. Ce problème nécessite l'utilisation de matériel ou de logiciels supplémentaires pour permettre la connectivité réseau avec les périphériques série.

Qu'est-ce que la technologie série sur IP?


Pour activer les connexions du port COM aux appareils situés à distance de votre PC, il vous suffit de convertir les signaux série en paquets de données IP. La façon la plus simple de le faire est d'utiliser une solution RS232 sur IP dédiée.

Serial over IP (SOI) est une technologie qui permet la transmission de paquets de données d'un port COM (virtuel ou physique) au réseau et vice versa, avec la possibilité de configurer à distance les paramètres du port, de surveiller leur état et de gérer leur signal ligne. Que vous souhaitiez programmer, reconfigurer ou surveiller l'activité d'un périphérique série distant, vous pourrez vous y connecter à l'aide d'outils série sur IP.

Logiciel série sur IP spécialisé


Si vous vous trouvez dans une situation où vous devez vous connecter à un appareil COM distant mais que vous ne pouvez pas le faire car il est situé à une longue distance de vous, la recommandation suivante est faite pour vous.

Serial to Ethernet Connector est conçu pour rediriger RS232 sur IP de manière à ce qu'un périphérique série distant apparaisse sur votre ordinateur local comme s'il était inséré directement dans votre machine.
Sec logo

Serial to Ethernet Connector

4.9 Classement basé sur 52+ utilisateurs, Revue(86)
Serial to Ethernet Connector

Que vous travailliez avec des équipements de point de vente, des instruments de laboratoire à port série, des systèmes de contrôle industriels, etc., vous pouvez activer des communications série transparentes entre tous vos appareils RS232 sur un réseau IP à l'aide d'une solution logicielle dédiée - Serial to Ethernet Connector.

Vous pouvez utiliser le logiciel de conversion série vers IP spécialisé pour:

  • créer plusieurs ports série virtuels reconnus par votre système comme des copies exactes des interfaces RS232, RS422 et RS485 réelles.
  • accéder aux ports COM à partir d'un environnement virtuel (VMware, Virtual Box, Hyper-V, etc.);
  • rediriger les données entrantes et sortantes des ports série locaux réels ou virtuels sur UDP/IP;
  • assurer la transmission de données RAW;
  • partage de périphériques série sur un réseau IP sur des machines Windows et Linux. Les appareils basés sur ARM sont également pris en charge.

Serial to Ethernet Connector (SEC) fonctionne sur n'importe quelle distance, donc peu importe où se trouve physiquement un périphérique de port COM. Une fois que vous avez installé l'application sur le serveur auquel un périphérique requis est connecté et sur les ordinateurs clients, vous pouvez connecter des ports série virtuels sur IP et communiquer à distance avec le périphérique.

Code d'entreprise, OEM et source
Que vous envisagiez de redistribuer notre moteur de redirection de port série dans le cadre de votre produit ou que vous envisagiez un logiciel de connecteur série sur Ethernet pour un déploiement à l'échelle de l'entreprise, nous proposons des solutions d'entreprise flexibles et abordables conçues pour répondre à vos besoins.


Comment configurer une connexion
série sur IP


Voici un scénario à considérer. Vous disposez d'un lecteur de codes-barres connecté en série qui doit transmettre des données à une application exécutée sur un ordinateur connecté à distance et connecté au réseau. Le connecteur série vers Ethernet crée une connexion virtuelle aux ports COM sur un réseau IP. L'utilisation de la technologie RS232 vers IP vous permet de travailler avec des périphériques et des ports série distants comme s'ils étaient physiquement connectés à votre ordinateur.

Voici comment partager un périphérique de port COM sur le réseau IP avec Serial to Ethernet Connector:

  • Téléchargez l'application et installez-la sur le serveur COM sur IP et tous les clients qui ont besoin d'accéder à un périphérique série distant.
  • Sur le serveur, lancez le logiciel, allez dans l'onglet «Connexion serveur» et configurez tous les paramètres requis. Cliquez sur «Créer une connexion».
  • Sur un client, démarrez l'application et sélectionnez «Connexion client» dans le menu principal. Dans la fenêtre qui s'ouvre, vous configurez les paramètres de connexion et cliquez sur «Créer une connexion».

Serveur - un ordinateur doté d'un appareil que vous souhaitez partager, physiquement branché.

Client - un ordinateur distant à partir duquel vous devez vous connecter à ce périphérique série sur votre réseau IP.

Ça y est ...! Une fois cela fait, vous aurez un accès complet au port COM distant sur IP et au périphérique inséré dedans. Le périphérique apparaîtra dans le Gestionnaire de périphériques sur votre ordinateur client comme s'il s'agissait de votre périphérique local.

Comment partager en série sur
IP sous Linux


Lorsqu'il s'agit de travailler avec des ports série distants sur une machine Linux, vous pouvez compter sur les méthodes natives disponibles dans la plupart des distributions modernes de Linux.

Afin de rediriger RS232 vers TCP / IP, vous pouvez utiliser netcat:

netcat www.example.com port /dev/ttyS0

Notez que cette méthode vous oblige à exécuter une nouvelle instance de l'application pour chaque nouvelle connexion.

Pour qu'il persiste entre les connexions, créez simplement un service xinetd en utilisant la configuration ci-dessous:

service testservice { port = 5900
socket_type = stream
protocol = tcp
wait = yes
user = root
server = /usr/bin/netcat
server_args = "-l 5900 < /dev/ttyS0"
}

Le /dev/ttyS0 doit être remplacé par le port série requis. Si vous souhaitez configurer les paramètres du port COM (comme le débit en bauds, la parité, etc.), utilisez les commandes stty ou setserial.

Cookie
Electronic Team, Inc. uses cookies to personalize your experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our cookie policy. Click here to learn more.

Serial to IP Server - RS232 to IP technology


The RS232 communication protocol shows no signs of disappearing in the near future. It is still a very popular method for communication with laboratory instruments, POS equipment, and industrial automation devices. Despite this fact, most modern computers do not come equipped with serial ports. This can pose a problem if you are trying to connect serial ports to TCP/IP network. This issue demands the use of additional hardware or software to enable network connectivity with serial devices.

What is serial to IP technology?

To enable COM port connections to devices located at a distance from your PC, you just need to convert serial signals into IP data packets. The simplest way to do this is by using a dedicated RS232 to IP solutions.

Serial over IP (SOI) is a technology that enables the transmission of data packets from a COM port (virtual or physical) to the network and vice versa, with the ability to remotely configure the port parameters, monitor their state, and manage their signal line. Whether you want to program, reconfigure or monitor remote serial device’s activity, you will be able to connect to it with the help of serial over IP tools.

Specialized Serial to IP Server software

If you ever find yourself in a situation where you need to connect to a remote COM-based device but cannot do this because it’s located at a long distance from you, the following recommendation is just for you.

Serial to IP Server software is designed to redirect RS232 over IP in such a way that a remote serial device appears on your local computer as though it were inserted right into your machine.
Sec logo

Serial to Ethernet Connector


Requirements: Requirements for Windows (32-bit and 64-bit): XP/2003/2008/ Vista/7/8/10, Windows Server 2012/2016. 4.76MB free space. Version 8.0.1173. (25 May, 2021). 4.9 Rank based on 52+ users, Reviews(86)
Category: Serial Port Software
Serial to Ethernet Connector

Whether you work with the POS equipment, serial port lab instruments, industrial control systems, etc. you can enable seamless serial communications between all of your RS232 devices over IP network with the help of dedicated software solution - Serial Server Connector.

You can use the specialized serial to IP server software for:

  • creating multiple virtual serial ports that are recognized by your system as exact copies of real RS232, RS422, and RS485 interfaces.
  • accessing COM ports from a virtual environment (VMware, Virtual Box, Hyper-V, etc.);
  • redirecting incoming and outgoing data from local real or virtual serial ports over UDP/IP;
  • providing RAW data transmission;
  • sharing serial devices over IP network on Windows and Linux machines. ARM-based devices are also supported.

Serial Server software or Serial to Ethernet Connector (SEC) works over any distance, so it doesn’t really matter where a COM port device is located physically. Once you install the app on the server, to which a required device is attached, and client computers, you can connect virtual serial ports over IP and communicate with the device remotely.

Corporate, SDK & Source code
Looking at redistributing our Serial Port Redirection Engine as a part of your product or considering Serial over Ethernet Connector software for an enterprise-wide deployment? We offer flexible and affordable corporate solutions designed to meet your needs.

How to set up a serial to IP connection

Here is a scenario to consider. You have a serially connected barcode scanner that needs to transmit data to an application running on a remotely located, network-attached computer. Serial to Ethernet Connector creates a virtual connection to COM ports over an IP network. Using RS232 to IP technology lets you work with remote serial devices and ports as if they were physically attached to your computer.

This is how to share a COM port device over the IP network with Serial to Ethernet Connector (Serial to IP Server):

  • Download the app and install it on the COM to IP server and all clients that need to get access to a remote serial device.
  • On the server, launch the software, go to the “Server connection” tab and configure all the required parameters. Click “Create a connection”.
  • On a client, start the app and select “Client connection” in the main menu. In the window that will open, you configure the connection settings and hit “Create connection”.

Server — a computer that have a device, which you want to share, physically plugged in.

Client — a remote PC from which you need to connect to this serial device over your IP network.

This is it! Once done, you will get full access to the remote COM port over IP and device inserted into it. The peripheral will appear in the Device Manager on your client computer like it were your local device.

Try Serial to Ethernet Connector Now
14-day free trial

How to share serial to IP on Linux

When it comes to working with remote serial ports on a Linux machine, you can rely on the native methods available in most modern distributions of Linux.

In order to redirect RS232 to TCP/IP, you can use netcat:

netcat www.example.com port </dev/ttyS0 >/dev/ttyS0

Note that this method requires you to run a new instance of the app for every new connection.

To have it persist between connections, just create an xinetd service using the configuration below:

service testservice { port = 5900
socket_type = stream
protocol = tcp
wait = yes
user = root
server = /usr/bin/netcat
server_args = "-l 5900 < /dev/ttyS0"
}

The /dev/ttyS0 may should be changed to the required serial port. If you want to configure the COM port parameters (like baud rate, parity, etc.), use the stty or setserial commands.

FAQ

The TCP/IP model is the basic communication language or protocol of the Internet created in 1970s by DARPA, an agency of the US Department of Defence (DOD). It developed from ARPANET - the world's first wide area network and a predecessor of Internet. TCP/IP model is also called the Internet model or the DOD model.
This model was successful because it delivered such basic services as file transfer, electronic mail, remote logon - services everyone needs. Several computers in one department can use TCP/IP on a single LAN. The IP component provides routing from the department to the enterprise network, then to regional networks, and then to global Internet.
TCP/IP is a two-layer protocol. The upper layer - Transmission Control Protocol - assembles a message or file into smaller packets transmitted over the Internet and received by a TCP layer that reassembles these packets into their originals. The lower layer - Internet Protocol - manages the address part of each packet and controls that it reaches the correct destination. Every gateway computer on the network checks this address in order to forward the message (file) to its destination. Some packets of the same message are routed differently, but they are reassembled at the destination.
TCP/IP uses client/server communication model. In this model a computer user (client) requests a service (sending a webpage) and is provided with it by another computer (server) on the network.

We all know even higher layer application protocols that use TCP/IP to get to the Internet. They include Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), File Transfer Protocol (FTP), Telnet, and the Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP). These and other protocols are often packaged with the TCP/IP as a suite.
small logo Serial to Ethernet Connector
#1 at Serial Port Software
Serial to Ethernet Connector
Access remote serial port over IP Network for Windows
Get a download link for your desktop
Submit your email address to get a link for quick download on your desktop and get started!
or