Seriell über IP - Anleitung zum Freigeben von RS232 über IP


Das RS232-Kommunikationsprotokoll zeigt keine Anzeichen für ein Verschwinden in naher Zukunft. Es ist immer noch eine sehr beliebte Methode für die Kommunikation mit Laborinstrumenten, POS-Geräten und industriellen Automatisierungsgeräten. Trotz dieser Tatsache sind die meisten modernen Computer nicht mit seriellen Schnittstellen ausgestattet. Dies kann ein Problem darstellen, wenn Sie versuchen, serielle Schnittstellen mit dem TCP/IP-Netzwerk zu verbinden. Dieses Problem erfordert die Verwendung zusätzlicher Hardware oder Software, um die Netzwerkverbindung mit seriellen Geräten zu ermöglichen.

Was ist Serial over IP-Technologie?


Um COM-Port-Verbindungen zu Geräten zu aktivieren, die sich in einiger Entfernung von Ihrem PC befinden, müssen Sie nur serielle Signale in IP-Datenpakete konvertieren. Der einfachste Weg, dies zu tun, ist die Verwendung einer dedizierten RS232-over-IP-Lösung.

Serial over IP (SOI) ist eine Technologie, die die Übertragung von Datenpaketen von einem COM-Port (virtuell oder physisch) zum Netzwerk und umgekehrt ermöglicht. Sie ermöglicht die Remote-Konfiguration der Portparameter, die Überwachung ihres Status und die Verwaltung ihres Signals Linie. Unabhängig davon, ob Sie die Aktivitäten eines seriellen Remote-Geräts programmieren, neu konfigurieren oder überwachen möchten, können Sie mithilfe von Serial-over-IP-Tools eine Verbindung herstellen.

Spezialisierte Serial-over-IP-Software


Wenn Sie sich jemals in einer Situation befinden, in der Sie eine Verbindung zu einem COM-basierten Remote-Gerät herstellen müssen, dies jedoch nicht tun können, weil es sich in großer Entfernung von Ihnen befindet, ist die folgende Empfehlung nur für Sie.

Serial to Ethernet Connector dient dazu, RS232 über IP so umzuleiten, dass ein serielles Remote-Gerät auf Ihrem lokalen Computer so angezeigt wird, als wäre es direkt in Ihren Computer eingesteckt.
Sec logo

Serial to Ethernet Connector

4.9 Rang basierend auf 52+ Nutzer, Bewertungen(86)
Serial to Ethernet Connector

Unabhängig davon, ob Sie mit POS-Geräten, Laborgeräten mit serieller Schnittstelle, industriellen Steuerungssystemen usw. arbeiten, können Sie mithilfe einer speziellen Softwarelösung eine nahtlose serielle Kommunikation zwischen all Ihren RS232-Geräten über ein IP-Netzwerk ermöglichen - Serial to Ethernet Connector.

Sie können die spezielle Seriell-IP-Konverter-Software verwenden für:

  • Erstellen mehrerer virtueller serieller Ports, die von Ihrem System als exakte Kopien realer RS232-, RS422- und RS485-Schnittstellen erkannt werden.
  • Zugriff auf COM-Ports von einer virtuellen Umgebung (VMware, Virtual Box, Hyper-V usw.);
  • Umleiten eingehender und ausgehender Daten von lokalen realen oder virtuellen seriellen Ports über UDP/IP;
  • Bereitstellung von RAW-Datenübertragung;
  • Freigabe serieller Geräte über ein IP-Netzwerk auf Windows- und Linux-Computern. ARM-basierte Geräte werden ebenfalls unterstützt.

Der Serial to Ethernet Connector (SEC) funktioniert über jede Entfernung, sodass es nicht wirklich darauf ankommt, wo sich ein COM-Port-Gerät physisch befindet. Sobald Sie die App auf dem Server, an den ein erforderliches Gerät angeschlossen ist, und auf Clientcomputern installiert haben, können Sie virtuelle serielle Ports über IP verbinden und remote mit dem Gerät kommunizieren.

Unternehmens-, OEM- und Quellcode
Unabhängig davon, ob Sie unsere Serial Port Redirection Engine als Teil Ihres Produkts neu verteilen oder die Serial over Ethernet Connector-Software für eine unternehmensweite Bereitstellung in Betracht ziehen, bieten wir flexible und kostengünstige Unternehmenslösungen, die auf Ihre Anforderungen zugeschnitten sind.


So richten
Sie eine Serial-over-IP-Verbindung ein


Hier ist ein zu berücksichtigendes Szenario. Sie haben einen seriell verbundenen Barcode-Scanner, der Daten an eine Anwendung übertragen muss, die auf einem entfernt gelegenen Computer mit Netzwerkanschluss ausgeführt wird. Serial to Ethernet Connector stellt eine virtuelle Verbindung zu COM-Ports über ein IP-Netzwerk her. Mit der RS232-zu-IP-Technologie können Sie mit seriellen Remote-Geräten und -Ports arbeiten, als wären sie physisch an Ihren Computer angeschlossen.

So teilen Sie ein COM-Port-Gerät über das IP-Netzwerk mit dem Serial-to-Ethernet-Connector:

  • Laden Sie die App herunter und installieren Sie sie auf dem COM over IP-Server und allen Clients, die Zugriff auf ein serielles Remote-Gerät benötigen.
  • Starten Sie auf dem Server die Software, wechseln Sie zur Registerkarte „Serververbindung“ und konfigurieren Sie alle erforderlichen Parameter. Klicken Sie auf "Verbindung herstellen".
  • Starten Sie auf einem Client die App und wählen Sie im Hauptmenü „Client-Verbindung“. In dem sich öffnenden Fenster konfigurieren Sie die Verbindungseinstellungen und klicken auf "Verbindung erstellen".

Server - Ein Computer mit einem Gerät, das Sie freigeben möchten, ist physisch angeschlossen.

Client - ein Remote-PC, von dem aus Sie über Ihr IP-Netzwerk eine Verbindung zu diesem seriellen Gerät herstellen müssen.

Das ist es! Sobald Sie fertig sind, erhalten Sie über IP und das darin eingesteckte Gerät vollen Zugriff auf den Remote-COM-Port. Das Peripheriegerät wird im Geräte-Manager auf Ihrem Client-Computer so angezeigt, als wäre es Ihr lokales Gerät.

So teilen Sie Serial over IP unter Linux


Wenn Sie mit seriellen Remote-Ports auf einem Linux-Computer arbeiten, können Sie sich auf die nativen Methoden verlassen, die in den meisten modernen Linux-Distributionen verfügbar sind.

Um RS232 zu TCP/IP umzuleiten, können Sie netcat verwenden:

netcat www.example.com port /dev/ttyS0

Beachten Sie, dass Sie für diese Methode für jede neue Verbindung eine neue Instanz der App ausführen müssen.

Damit es zwischen den Verbindungen bestehen bleibt, erstellen Sie einfach einen xinetd-Dienst mit der folgenden Konfiguration:

service testservice { port = 5900
socket_type = stream
protocol = tcp
wait = yes
user = root
server = /usr/bin/netcat
server_args = "-l 5900 < /dev/ttyS0"
}

Das /dev/ttyS0 sollte möglicherweise auf die erforderliche serielle Schnittstelle geändert werden. Wenn Sie die COM-Port-Parameter (wie Baudrate, Parität usw.) konfigurieren möchten, verwenden Sie die Befehle stty oder setserial.

Cookie
Electronic Team, Inc. uses cookies to personalize your experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our cookie policy. Click here to learn more.

Serial to IP Server - RS232 to IP technology


The RS232 communication protocol shows no signs of disappearing in the near future. It is still a very popular method for communication with laboratory instruments, POS equipment, and industrial automation devices. Despite this fact, most modern computers do not come equipped with serial ports. This can pose a problem if you are trying to connect serial ports to TCP/IP network. This issue demands the use of additional hardware or software to enable network connectivity with serial devices.

What is serial to IP technology?

To enable COM port connections to devices located at a distance from your PC, you just need to convert serial signals into IP data packets. The simplest way to do this is by using a dedicated RS232 to IP solutions.

Serial over IP (SOI) is a technology that enables the transmission of data packets from a COM port (virtual or physical) to the network and vice versa, with the ability to remotely configure the port parameters, monitor their state, and manage their signal line. Whether you want to program, reconfigure or monitor remote serial device’s activity, you will be able to connect to it with the help of serial over IP tools.

Specialized Serial to IP Server software

If you ever find yourself in a situation where you need to connect to a remote COM-based device but cannot do this because it’s located at a long distance from you, the following recommendation is just for you.

Serial to IP Server software is designed to redirect RS232 over IP in such a way that a remote serial device appears on your local computer as though it were inserted right into your machine.
Sec logo

Serial to Ethernet Connector


Requirements: Requirements for Windows (32-bit and 64-bit): XP/2003/2008/ Vista/7/8/10, Windows Server 2012/2016. 4.76MB free space. Version 8.0.1173. (25 May, 2021). 4.9 Rank based on 52+ users, Reviews(86)
Category: Serial Port Software
Serial to Ethernet Connector

Whether you work with the POS equipment, serial port lab instruments, industrial control systems, etc. you can enable seamless serial communications between all of your RS232 devices over IP network with the help of dedicated software solution - Serial Server Connector.

You can use the specialized serial to IP server software for:

  • creating multiple virtual serial ports that are recognized by your system as exact copies of real RS232, RS422, and RS485 interfaces.
  • accessing COM ports from a virtual environment (VMware, Virtual Box, Hyper-V, etc.);
  • redirecting incoming and outgoing data from local real or virtual serial ports over UDP/IP;
  • providing RAW data transmission;
  • sharing serial devices over IP network on Windows and Linux machines. ARM-based devices are also supported.

Serial Server software or Serial to Ethernet Connector (SEC) works over any distance, so it doesn’t really matter where a COM port device is located physically. Once you install the app on the server, to which a required device is attached, and client computers, you can connect virtual serial ports over IP and communicate with the device remotely.

Corporate, SDK & Source code
Looking at redistributing our Serial Port Redirection Engine as a part of your product or considering Serial over Ethernet Connector software for an enterprise-wide deployment? We offer flexible and affordable corporate solutions designed to meet your needs.

How to set up a serial to IP connection

Here is a scenario to consider. You have a serially connected barcode scanner that needs to transmit data to an application running on a remotely located, network-attached computer. Serial to Ethernet Connector creates a virtual connection to COM ports over an IP network. Using RS232 to IP technology lets you work with remote serial devices and ports as if they were physically attached to your computer.

This is how to share a COM port device over the IP network with Serial to Ethernet Connector (Serial to IP Server):

  • Download the app and install it on the COM to IP server and all clients that need to get access to a remote serial device.
  • On the server, launch the software, go to the “Server connection” tab and configure all the required parameters. Click “Create a connection”.
  • On a client, start the app and select “Client connection” in the main menu. In the window that will open, you configure the connection settings and hit “Create connection”.

Server — a computer that have a device, which you want to share, physically plugged in.

Client — a remote PC from which you need to connect to this serial device over your IP network.

This is it! Once done, you will get full access to the remote COM port over IP and device inserted into it. The peripheral will appear in the Device Manager on your client computer like it were your local device.

Try Serial to Ethernet Connector Now
14-day free trial

How to share serial to IP on Linux

When it comes to working with remote serial ports on a Linux machine, you can rely on the native methods available in most modern distributions of Linux.

In order to redirect RS232 to TCP/IP, you can use netcat:

netcat www.example.com port </dev/ttyS0 >/dev/ttyS0

Note that this method requires you to run a new instance of the app for every new connection.

To have it persist between connections, just create an xinetd service using the configuration below:

service testservice { port = 5900
socket_type = stream
protocol = tcp
wait = yes
user = root
server = /usr/bin/netcat
server_args = "-l 5900 < /dev/ttyS0"
}

The /dev/ttyS0 may should be changed to the required serial port. If you want to configure the COM port parameters (like baud rate, parity, etc.), use the stty or setserial commands.

FAQ

The TCP/IP model is the basic communication language or protocol of the Internet created in 1970s by DARPA, an agency of the US Department of Defence (DOD). It developed from ARPANET - the world's first wide area network and a predecessor of Internet. TCP/IP model is also called the Internet model or the DOD model.
This model was successful because it delivered such basic services as file transfer, electronic mail, remote logon - services everyone needs. Several computers in one department can use TCP/IP on a single LAN. The IP component provides routing from the department to the enterprise network, then to regional networks, and then to global Internet.
TCP/IP is a two-layer protocol. The upper layer - Transmission Control Protocol - assembles a message or file into smaller packets transmitted over the Internet and received by a TCP layer that reassembles these packets into their originals. The lower layer - Internet Protocol - manages the address part of each packet and controls that it reaches the correct destination. Every gateway computer on the network checks this address in order to forward the message (file) to its destination. Some packets of the same message are routed differently, but they are reassembled at the destination.
TCP/IP uses client/server communication model. In this model a computer user (client) requests a service (sending a webpage) and is provided with it by another computer (server) on the network.

We all know even higher layer application protocols that use TCP/IP to get to the Internet. They include Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), File Transfer Protocol (FTP), Telnet, and the Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP). These and other protocols are often packaged with the TCP/IP as a suite.
small logo Serial to Ethernet Connector
#1 at Serial Port Software
Serial to Ethernet Connector
Access remote serial port over IP Network for Windows
Get a download link for your desktop
Submit your email address to get a link for quick download on your desktop and get started!
or